← Back to Petra museums

The Monastery - Ad Deir

Wonderful point of interest in Petra, Jordan

The Monastery - Ad Deir is one the best museums near Petra located Ma'an Governorate, Jordan.
The international phone number of this point of interest is unfortunately unknown yet.

Add to favorites

Latest review

It is almost at the top of the mountain. I saw some people walking on the building though I did not see any way to go up there. There is a cafe in front of the Monastery. Probably it takes 2 hours or so to come to this place after entrance to Petra. You can feel the sense of accomplishment.

4.0/ 5stars

More reviews about The Monastery - Ad Deir

Even though I had many offers of donkey, horse, or camel rides, I decided to walk and it was well worth it. Just as amazing as The Treasury. There is many refreshments available along the way to save carrying too much, and helping the many sellers along the way.

2017/03/29, Kelvin Eagleton

A must see when visiting Jordan! You need to climb some steps before getting there but certainly worth the effort.

2017/07/01, Robin de Bruin

Awesome structure. This magnificent, monolithic gem found in the ancient Nabataean city of Petra is a sight to behold. A true wonder of the ancient world.

2017/04/09, James McKenzie

Dramatic and very impressive. Exactly what the architects had in mind 2000 years ago I suspect. My hike was 20,000 steps, 13km, and the equivalent of 85 floors climbed. So good boots and water..... And yes, 100% it's worth the effort of getting there..!

2016/12/26, Panoramic Imaging

Working hours

The Monastery - Ad Deir on the map of Petra

Photos of The Monastery - Ad Deir

What's near The Monastery - Ad Deir

Ad Dayr
As Sīq
Bait Zaman
Beit Zaman Hotel Resort
Jabal al Madhbaḩ
Jabal an Nabī Hārūn
Jabal Um el Biyar
Jibāl ad Dayr
Umm al Bi”ār
Umm Şayḩūn
Wādī as Sīq
Wādī Mūsá
Wādī Sīq al Ghurāb


Please login with your Facebook account to continue
Select country by first letter

Tonga Slovakia Cape Verde Israel Iran Namibia Christmas Island Bosnia and Herzegovina Senegal French Polynesia Macao Somalia Kuwait Bangladesh Belgium Nicaragua Bolivia Zambia Australia Egypt Morocco Uganda Philippines Uruguay Solomon Islands Afghanistan Angola Tokelau Kenya Madagascar British Indian Ocean Territory Nigeria Burkina Faso Suriname Heard Island and McDonald Islands Turkey Costa Rica Sint Maarten Liechtenstein Malawi Burundi Benin Greenland Gibraltar Singapore Vanuatu Curacao Saint Lucia New Zealand Sri Lanka Wallis and Futuna Cameroon Mexico Jamaica Algeria France Tanzania Anguilla Honduras Kyrgyzstan Saint Helena Saudi Arabia Finland Turks and Caicos Islands Tunisia Djibouti Kazakhstan Ghana Eritrea Cayman Islands Mayotte Cuba Jordan Taiwan Brunei Gabon Austria Norway Italy Micronesia Central African Republic Kosovo Ivory Coast Belize Venezuela Guatemala Ukraine East Timor Saint Kitts and Nevis South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands New Caledonia Guinea United States Minor Outlying Islands Gambia Syria Pitcairn North Korea Grenada Palau Sudan Montserrat Guernsey Niue Saint Barthelemy Georgia Haiti Bonaire, Saint Eustatius and Saba Barbados Tajikistan Aruba Qatar Montenegro Turkmenistan Myanmar Serbia Swaziland Botswana Iraq Denmark Mongolia Bahamas Netherlands Antilles Bermuda Paraguay Ireland Samoa Poland Albania Sierra Leone Canada Cyprus Lesotho Latvia Laos Mauritius Isle of Man Maldives Guinea-Bissau Azerbaijan South Africa Uzbekistan Mozambique Bahrain Equatorial Guinea Zimbabwe Bulgaria Luxembourg Monaco Puerto Rico Hungary Nauru Reunion Liberia Argentina United States Jersey Germany Faroe Islands Mali Czechia Cocos Islands Sao Tome and Principe Democratic Republic of the Congo Malaysia Dominica Togo Marshall Islands Panama Bhutan Iceland Falkland Islands Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Thailand Vatican Saint Martin Fiji China Ecuador Guyana Slovenia Guam San Marino Seychelles Guadeloupe Spain Rwanda Malta Belarus Tuvalu India Mauritania British Virgin Islands Andorra Northern Mariana Islands Saint Pierre and Miquelon Republic of the Congo Antarctica Niger Japan Peru Comoros El Salvador South Sudan Martinique Chile Svalbard and Jan Mayen Greece Croatia Estonia Portugal Russia Dominican Republic American Samoa Papua New Guinea Trinidad and Tobago Lithuania Colombia Hong Kong U.S. Virgin Islands Moldova Oman Serbia and Montenegro United Kingdom Romania Indonesia United Arab Emirates French Southern Territories Ethiopia Western Sahara Bouvet Island Netherlands South Korea Norfolk Island Nepal Antigua and Barbuda Kiribati Macedonia French Guiana Sweden Palestinian Territory Cambodia Chad Armenia Switzerland Libya Vietnam Brazil Pakistan Yemen Aland Islands Lebanon Cook Islands